The Ones We Choose

The Ones We ChooseLisa Genova meets 23andMe in this exploration of the genetic and emotional ties that bind, as debut author Julie Clark delivers a compelling read about a young boy desperate to find his place in this world, a mother coming to terms with her own past, and the healing power of forgiveness.The powerful

0

Categories: genetics

Lifespan: Why We Age—and Why We Don't Have To

Lifespan: Why We Age—and Why We Don't Have ToIt s a seemingly undeniable truth that aging is inevitable But what if everything we ve been taught to believe about aging is wrong What if we could choose our lifespan In this groundbreaking book, Dr David Sinclair, leading world authority on genetics and longevity, reveals a bold new theory fo

0

Categories: genetics

The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate HistorySpanning the globe and several centuries, The Gene is the story of the quest to decipher the master code that makes and defines humans, that governs our form and function n nThe story of the gene begins in an obscure Augustinian abbey in Moravia in 1856 where a monk stumbles on the idea of a unit of

5

Categories: genetics

Deadliest Enemy: Our War Against Killer Germs

Deadliest Enemy: Our War Against Killer GermsA leading epidemiologist shares his powerful and necessary stories from the front lines of our war on infectious diseases and explains how to prepare for global epidemics Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone.Unlike natural disasters, whose destruction is concentrated in a limited area over a

3

Categories: genetics

Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity

Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of HumanityPassionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene n nAfter 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules n nFrom leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Me

8

Categories: genetics

The Tangled Tree: A Radical New History of Life

The Tangled Tree: A Radical New History of LifeScience writer David Quammen explains how recent discoveries in molecular biology can change our understanding of evolution and life s history, with powerful implications for human health and even our own human nature n nIn the mid 1970s, scientists began using DNA sequences to reexamine the history

6

Categories: genetics

Blueprint: How DNA makes us who we are

Blueprint: How DNA makes us who we areA clear and engaging explanation of one of the hottest fields in science Steven PinkerOne of the world s top behavioural geneticists argues that we need a radical rethink about what makes us who we are n nThe blueprint for our individuality lies in the 1% of DNA that differs between people Our inte

6

Categories: genetics

The Selfish Gene

The Selfish GeneThe Selfish Gene 30th Anniversary Edition with a new Introduction by the Author n nInheriting the mantle of revolutionary biologist from Darwin, Watson, and Crick, Richard Dawkins forced an enormous change in the way we see ourselves and the world with the publication of The Selfish Gene Suppose, in

1

Categories: genetics

The Gene: An Intimate History

The Gene: An Intimate HistorySpanning the globe and several centuries, The Gene is the story of the quest to decipher the master code that makes and defines humans, that governs our form and function n nThe story of the gene begins in an obscure Augustinian abbey in Moravia in 1856 where a monk stumbles on the idea of a unit of

8

Categories: genetics

The Epigenetics Revolution

The Epigenetics RevolutionAt the beginning of this century enormous progress had been made in genetics The Human Genome Project finished sequencing human DNA It seemed it was only a matter of time until we had all the answers to the secrets of life on this planet The cutting edge of biology, however, is telling us that we

10

Categories: genetics

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The Immortal Life of Henrietta LacksHer name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells taken without her knowledge became one of the most important tools in medicine The first immortal human cells grown in culture, they

5

Categories: genetics